Event #42: Monday, March 22, 2010


When Bob and I spoke at work he said he’d come up to the bedroom and Joe was really skittery. So I knew to expect something. Of course at this point, I don’t know what that will be, just something. And sure enough, I came up to a whole notebook page of writing. This didn’t happen until after we had talked though. She must have been “waiting” for Bob to arrive, and to get into bed, so that she could “talk”.  Since this was the most writing I’d seen yet, I grabbed the notebook and ran downstairs to the scanner and computer. I made sure to put a piece of paper with the pen on Bob’s bedside table just in case there happened to be… more. I’m getting pretty good at researching the words now. I know the sites where I will have the most results. And the search terms to use.  So the first thing I plugged in was “Lenape and nshielintam”. I looked at Bob’s progression of the word as he tried to understand it, and imagined a teacher correcting him until at the bottom of the page he gets it right. And I’ve got to say, I don’t know HOW, because if you hear this word (on the site I go to, “talk-lenape.org”, there is an audio link to click, and you can hear it being pronounced), it does not sound ANYTHING like that. You can’t hear the “N” in it at ALL. If I had to spell it, based on the woman doing the audio pronunciation at talk-lenape.org, it would be: “gee-eh-lin-dam”. The emphasis in on the LIN syllable. And yet it is “Nshielintam”. My notes are next to the word, where I wrote what it meant: “I am sad”.
Then I tried the first word: “Nuxati”, and that was not hard to find either, and it meant “Father Dear”, or “dear Father”. Then I tackled the “Tahola, ktahole, taholel, Ktaholeh. I tackled that one for awhile. I couldn’t find it. The site that I mentioned above only has an “English to Lenape” translation. And you have to be very literal: you have to have exactly the right phrase. So for instance, if I was to put in “sad”, I get no result, but if I put “I am sad”, I get the right word. I reported my findings to Bob in an email the next morning, which will be the next post.

Leave a Reply

