Wednesday, March 31, 2010

Then this morning, Bob wrote back to me this email:
How the hell do you get the translations? And get them that quickly?Something very strange about that. Apparently Kitchi is my name, I don’t know if it is a nickname or my tribal name. I was at the creek as were the two elderly gents that I met before. Nice enough fellows. They don’t seem to think this is that extraordinary. They appear to be helping and guiding Nuttah. How the hell did you get the translations? Also, I heard from Dan, all is well.

And then my email back to Bob:

“It’s really not been that hard. It’s always from the same site: www.talk-lenape.org. I copied those English/Lenape translations right from there, I didn’t type them. On one of the words, you even got the accent right — except that it goes in the other direction. Nuttah will probably correct you on that eventually. I can’t put the phrases by themselves into a search engine though. Well, I can, I just don’t get anything. I have to use the word “Lenape”, and then your Lenape phrase. And I’ll get one or 2 results, sometimes none, so sometimes I have to play around with it, and just pick one word. There is no search feature on that “Talk-Lenape” site, which would be helpful, and their translator only works in the English to Lenape direction. They have about 54 pages of sentences on that site. The one that so far was most confounding was the ktaholel sentence, cause normally those words would not have been used together like that. So what was the “You know more” part? Did that happen at the creek? Was it used in a context maybe like “you will know more”? Did you see/notice anything new/different at the creek this time? Was it just as disorienting as usual?”

And the Bob’s email back:
“I don’t want to go to the sites [you send me] because I don’t want to corrupt my thoughts. I will delete this email. She is using much more sign language then previously. That may be the next thing you will have to look up.

The “you know more” I pretty much knew from the hand signs [she was giving me] but I wanted to see if you could figure it out to confirm it. It is one of the most foreign languages I have ever heard. I think she is telling me I know more than I am allowing myself to believe. The 2 elderly gents were in agreement with her on that. She is trying to get me to communicate my thoughts to her. That should prove interesting, unlike all this mundane stuff that has been occurring. I feel today like I am still between both times, very odd sensation. Almost like I am out of sync here.
She is still trying to convey something significant about the water and my connection to it. I think I know, have known, what it is, I just haven’t said it. But I believe it is why she is so overwhelmingly sad.
See if you can find out what Ketchi is, what it means.
Ktaholeh Awup
Ketchi
And mine back to Bob:
Kitchi,
(is it “Kitchi” or “Ketchi”? or you don’t know?)
I’ve copied the contact form below that I sent to the talk-lenape site. They had responded, but it went in my spam folder; I found it the other day. I had asked about “Ketchi”. There is no direct translation, 2 similar words mean “Don’t” or “Really”, as you see below. I looked at the name sites as well, where we found “Nuttah”. Can’t find it there. There are some northern camps named “Kitchi” one in Minnesota near some Indian burial grounds. Also, Kitchi the otter escaped from a zoo yesterday! A police description of the scenario runs something like this: suspect is approximately 4 feet long, not considered dangerous, has an uncanny taste for fish. The suspect remains at large. (Just had to interject a bit of humor here). OH — I just realized when I did the name search, I was using Ketchi — and I looked up “Kitchi” because that seems to have more relevant web hits, and there it was on the name site:

KITCHI: Algonquin, BRAVE

So there it is. Using Kitchi as a search term, there are a lot of relevant hits; I can look into that more tonight. Here is the contact form I sent to “talk-lenape.org”:
> I’ve been using your dictionary lately, but I wondered if by any chance
> you have a Lenape to English translation. I’m stumped by the following:
> nuxati ktaholeh nshielintam
> I believe that the first word is “Father Dear”, and the last word means “I
> am so sad”. What about the middle word? It might actually be 2 words.
> Also, “ketchi”?

And this was their response:
That is a strange sentence if that is what it is supposed to be.
Dear-father I-love-you I-am-sad.  The middle word is probably ktaholël.

Ketchi, maybe is kàchi = don’t.  Or kichi = really.
In the future we plan to add a Lenape to English finder.

Leave a Reply

