Event #70: Tuesday, June 8, 2010

A couple emails back and forth:
The room was nice and cool last night, slept well. I wish that was summer! Were the cutouts different than how you arranged them? She was in the room last night, but only briefly as far as I could discern. She did convey “history” and “ancestors” to me. That does not bode well.

And mine to Bob:
The cutouts were different. I had left us like this: We (you and me) were flanking the group, like in the original picture. So you were moved all the way to the left, next to me, the wolves next to you, and then her stone is moved to sit right in front of you. I guess you couldn’t see that last night. She is moved to where you saw her in front of me, and she is looking toward you. After I take a picture I’ll put everyone in yet a new grouping and shoot that before I leave. History and ancestors? Oh boy. What time was she there?

More Lenape language words in the notebook

Now me narrating: This morning, when I left, I set our family of paper dolls up again, and photographed the way I left them. But this time she did not touch them. I will learn from Bob tomorrow what actually happened tonight, because for the first time in a long time, there were again words in the notebook. The only two that I have been able to translate are one I think I have seen or heard before: “ilaonetu”, which is “comet or meteor”, and we have come across that before. Then a phrase that I can’t find any meaning or reference for:
Kikayuyemeuaninhakhe. Bob strung it all out as one word, but when I put it in the search engine, a suggested alternative was: kikay uyem euan in kah ke. The search results for the latter are mostly in gibberish, or reference downloadable play-lists or something that I won’t touch because I’m afraid of computer infections. Hopefully tomorrow Bob will shed some light on it, because I was unsuccessful in translating using the internet. Usually, he can at least provide a context or a guess based on the “conversation”.
And then “Lapi Newelch” which actually turns out to be spelled “lapi knewelch”, but the “k” cannot be heard. It means “I will see you again”. Here it is from the Talk-Lenape site:
Lenape: lapi knewëlch
English: I will see you again

I looked around for the stone, because it seemed to be missing and I was worried that it was gone. But it was on Bob’s bedside table; I had missed it in my excitement at seeing writing again for the first time in awhile.

Leave a Reply

