Thurs., November 4, 2010

Bob: I saw a little sprig in a cup in the bathroom but couldn’t see much, no glasses and morning eyesight. How likely is it that flowies (I assume it has flowies,maybe not) could survive the past few nights in the 20’s? I know the stuff out front didn’t. I slept right through last night so if this happened last night it got by me. Who knows the meaning unless you ask Nuttah. Could just be a gift to her An’na of a last flower of the season. What type of feather is it?

Me: The sprig-in-cup was what she brought. Looked like it had only been there a short time, almost no wilting. I don’t know if these flowees could survive a frost — maybe. On the towpath I still see some fleabane that’s got protection of leaves, sunlight, etc. but I’m pretty sure that this flower she brought grows very tall. It’s the same flower she brought the big sprig of last time. I have not seen any of it around still alive, so I think it came from her time and they haven’t had their first frost yet. I don’t know what kind of feather — it is grey, solid grey. Not a tiny bird, more like a dove or something.

The bud after being in water overnight

Now me narrating: On reflection of what happened above, it is pretty unlikely that a flower with these delicate buds could have survived 3 nights of frost, especially Sunday and Monday night when we dropped into the 20’s here. Which would mean that in “her time”, it has not frosted yet, which is possible. And also means, as I have suspected with her previous gifts of flowers, that these did in fact come from “her time.” I will take a picture as soon as I have some time. (Later, I inserted the picture of the sprig above, after I’d put it in a small cup of water).

I have to try to nurture this latest flower sprig. After I wrote to Leann about it, she wrote back:

“Heirloom flowers! Do they have seeds?”

Well – something that I’d never thought of, and I feel pretty lame admitting that, being the so-called gardener I believe myself to be. Why didn’t I think of cultivating some of these plants that she has brought? Was that not, after all, my role then? Well – it does remain to be seen if it’s even possible to do. The 3 latest ones, I do still have – last night’s, the asters, and the earlier large sprig, which is the same as what appeared last night. I also flattened the Arrowhead plant in a book, but it was a very water-based plant and I don’t think it faired well.

A picture I took of an Evening primrose along the creek sometime in 2005. Notice each separate leaf is shaped like a heart

This sprig has a yellow bud, which I believe it to be Evening primrose. I have previously taken pictures in the field of that particular flower, and I have inserted one of the pictures I took to the right here. As I was looking at this picture, I did take notice of something that I just now noticed for the first time. If you look at each individual petal of the flower, of which there are 4 – each one of the petals forms a perfect little heart shape.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

