Event #141: Tues., November 23, 2010

Bob’s morning email responding to the one I sent him last night with the flower picture from the previous post:

Bob: That is interesting. It certainly doesn’t appear to be a ground cover type of plant. Seems like it would be growing up. It must be warm at her place. Maybe she has a winter place in Florida. This is all so wild, and even wilder that it has become prosaic to us. I had no impression of Nuttah (or Oota if you prefer) being there last night, but I slept like a deranged donkey last night, so who knows.

Me: Yes, I picture the plant like a — I don’t know, like a what is escaping me. It reminds me of these little pink flowers that everyone considers a weed, they grow everywhere, we had some here ’til the frost, but they’re very short. They rarely get over a foot or so. I picture this taller. I don’t know what it is. Maybe they will bloom. I “heard” lots of activity, mainly it was just the “buzz-sound”.

In late November, this is the only thing left "alive" in our yard: Smartweed

I identified something in one of my wildflower books that is (barely) still growing in our yard. This was next to [the discarded] fish tank outside. It’s called PA Smartweed, or Lady’s Thumb; this stuff grows everywhere, and its growing pattern is the closest one to the plant she brought that I could think of. I brought in some berries as my offering today.

Bob: That doesn’t look like the same plant to me! Hard to tell on blackberry though.

I took a picture of how the dresser was when I left, with all the flower sprigs & my berry sprig for her

I have included here a picture of how I left the whole bureau arrangement on Tuesday morning. Her sprig still stands up next to me, and I brought in some berries for her, since there aren’t any more flowers to offer, at least on our property.  The bright yellow ones there I brought from a relatively protected area along the river. They are about the very last thing that is still growing in some protected, low-lying, sunny areas along the river. You can also see the grey feather laying in front of “me”, which she has left there, and the two hearts; one for “me”, one for “Bob”, and then the claws, shaped roughly as a heart, are in the bottom middle of the picture. I took this picture in case things were to change later… I wanted to know for sure how I’d left it. This was to come in handy the next day. I really do need some new paper doll characters of “us” to work with. I did those in such haste back then when “we” entered into the object scene, and our goofy little paper doll characters have certainly proved useful, but I think it’s time for new ones. I imagine a “two-sided” doll. The “Indian us” on one side, and the “present-day us” on the other. But which is really present??

To the left is the Smartweed, still more or less alive in our yard, to the right, the flower she brought; the buds look very similar, but definitely not the same plant

I’ve inserted above a picture of the two plants. The left one I found in our yard yesterday. The right one is a close-up of what she brought us. They have ‘similarities’, but I know they are not the same. It is the growth pattern of the floral part that I think is similar. I can’t find the one on the right in any of my wildflower books, and the ‘closest’ thing we have to it is Goldenrod, but it can’t be Goldenrod, because of the color of her buds. I will have to leave this mystery plant for now, and just accept that the possibility is there that it is from “her time”, and it didn’t make it to this century. Or it is an earlier variety of something we do have now. If someone is out there that can comment on this plant and perhaps identify it, I would welcome the input.  Below I have included a shot of the entire sprig. This piece is roughly about 6″ long. Each little floral bud is less than 1/4 of an inch.

Nuttah's unidentified flower sprig. Difficult to get a good close-up of because of its many dimensions

A scan (in the scanner, not a photograph) of the plant. Perhaps more detail transmitted here.

Leave a Reply

