149a: Saturday, December 4, 2010

I was really curious about how she got across to Bob the idea of the sweat lodge (not being universal), so I asked him to describe it better for me:

“How does she get across the idea of the sweat lodge being used by her culture, and not others (or her clan)?” I wondered.

“She uses pictures… they just come in and I know they’re not me and I know it’s her and I know she’s there. I get these concepts coming through – I really don’t know how to explain it because I don’t have anything to relate it to. I get from her that ‘we are one of the few that use them’ [a sweat lodge].” Bob explained.

“And she shows you all this in pictures?” I wondered.

“Well, she speaks, I mean there is a constant audio. I don’t really understand it, I get it through the idea-graphs and the pictures that she presents. She’ll show pictures of her clan (with the sweat lodge), and then there’s this great separation and there are others shown and it’s not there, and from that I get what she’s trying to convey.” Bob continues.

“Okay… I sort of get it.” I finally concede. But I still could not help but thinking that there was a reason this whole sweat-lodge business came up at all, and could it have been because I was looking them up and researching them?

Leave a Reply

