Event #224: Tuesday night, May 31, 2011

Tuesday, it got R E A L L Y, really hot. Bob had just arrived home from a hard day at work, and BOOM, the power went out. He called me from his cell in the car, cause his cell phone doesn’t work here at the house. Most cell phones don’t, being in a valley surrounded by hills, and no cell towers. (We kind of like it like that). Anyway, he was thinking of heading out to a place with air conditioning, but the electric company recording was “projecting” that it would be restored around midnight. Wishful thinking. I got home at 11 or so and the power was still off. More than half of our neighbors along our road still had power. I called to see what the current projection was and now they were saying 2 in the morning.

And here are 3 of the ducks, now moved to the floor below the closet.

There was nothing to do but lay in a hot bed using my battery-operated book light to try to read with the still, hot, humid air descending on us like a wet blanket. Bob snored softly beside me, and I marveled that he slept at all. I was pretty sure I was not going to get to sleep in this oppressive heat, so to try and relax I did some puzzles and a little light reading.  At one point I got up to use the bathroom, and using my book light to illuminate the way, I noticed something new in my pathway back to the bed. It was the ducks! No longer on TOP of the closet, the core family of three ducks has been moved to the floor! I almost tripped over them. I don’t know when this happened, and I could have missed it earlier, obviously with no lights in the room. But there they were, on the floor next to the closet. I’m left to wonder what is the meaning.

Leave a Reply

