Bob and a Guest Have a Mutual Sighting

I came home the night of July 16, 2012 to a new arrangement on Bob’s side of the bed. It would be morning before I found out if there had also been some communication with Bob.

This is the arrangement I came home to on Bob's bedside table

This is the arrangement I came home to on Bob’s bedside table

Bob wrote me this email the next morning:
Woke at 12:12 briefly last night, then woke at 1:15 AM in a total sweat. My fan was off…..Nuttah had been there earlier in the evening, just visiting. She sat on the bed.  I guess she could have turned it off,  but I dont know why she would. Either way I was drenched, really don’t like summer.

My email to Bob: I figured Nuttah had visited, she left an arrangement on your side of the bed. It’s herself, a heart and the pewter turtle.

A web rendition of what Bob might have seen, glancing across the creek

A web rendition of what Bob might have seen, glancing across the creek

Then later that evening, Bob called me at work, our usual nightly phone call before he goes to bed. What he was to tell me gave me chills every time I thought about it after that. We’d been having some work done on our house for the better part of the summer. This is all still the fix-up work of that hurricane in August of 2011 – Irene, which is the 2nd hurricane that flooded our house. The contractor (name is “Dave”) that was doing the work had stopped over in the early evening to pick up a check to get paid. Bob invited him to sit outside on the deck and have a beer with him. Dave accepted, and they sat out facing the creek and drinking their beers. They were chatting about this and that, both of them like to fish, and that is the usual topic. Bob told me that he was just casually gazing at the woods across the creek, and suddenly, out of nowhere, he spots a line of Lenape braves in the woods, cruising along as they are hunting. He starts, alarmed, stops in mid-sentence, and glances over to see if Dave might have seen them too. Dave is as white as a ghost, and suddenly gets up, saying, “Geez, think I better go get something to eat, this beer is going right to my head.” He departs without saying another word, his beer only half finished. There was no doubt in Bob’s mind that Dave saw the hunters too. I wish there was some way that I could tell Dave that he wasn’t just imagining it, that he is not crazy, that he saw what he saw. But how do you bring that up? I can’t. I simply must stay mum about it, course I pretty much announce it to the world here, but Dave lives on our street and knows a lot of people we know, so it just isn’t possible. I’m sure Dave by now has found a way to rationalize what he no doubt saw.

Leave a Reply

