Power comes back on

November 7, 2012

On the eve of Hurricane Sandy, October 29, Nuttah had hidden herself under a turtle shell.

On the eve of Hurricane Sandy, October 29, Nuttah had hidden herself under a turtle shell.

2012-10-31-Nuttah-with-Shell-on-Bed

Later in the “power failure week”, we came home to find Nuttah on the bed with the turtle shell

Nuttah was out from under the turtle shell, on my bedside table with hearts

Nuttah was out from under the turtle shell, on my bedside table with hearts

Power came on Tuesday night (election night).  I actually voted that morning in a township hall that was running the voting booths on generator power. First time for that. We still have no internet, cable, or telephone. This was Day 8, and it had been off since the night of October 29th. Then tonight, I came home to a loud vibration as soon as I get out of my car in the driveway. As I go upstairs, in the bathroom it was even stronger. I went into the bedroom, and Nuttah was no longer under the turtle shell, as above,  where she’d placed herself for “protection” the night of the storm. Where was she tonight though? On my bedside table. I walked over, she faces my side of bed, with the piled up hearts pointing at me (see picture to the left) Immediately, I’m not sure why, I think: “Joe”. He’s dead. I know it. She knows I’ll be sad. I don’t have the heart to go down and look at him, he’s been ailing now for so long, after months of treatments, that ultimately were not going to save the life of a 17 year old cat. Joe. So much of this he experienced himself, in the beginning, in the old bedroom. I’ll have to get a good picture of Joe, from his early better days, when he was still a robust young man. Probably most of those pictures were on film and are in photo-albums. Joe came home to us in 1995, and it’s hard to believe it’s now 2012. I can’t deal with the inevitability tonight, I’ll check him out in the morning. Good ole Joe.

"Joe-the-Cat" emerging from his hiding place

“Joe-the-Cat” emerging from his hiding place

One Comment to “Power comes back on”

  1. Good bye Joey, we miss you

Leave a Reply

