Bob gets to visit with dogs of the past

It was the next day, and Bob sent me this email. The reference to “Pink and Dukey” below, is about two of our dogs that have since passed on:

1/9/13, 7:50 AM:  Had some time with Pink and Dukey last night. It is always so natural and so real, I don’t immediately realize how privileged I am, when I do it is overwhelming. It didn’t last long, but at least it happened. All seems to be well with Nuttah and her group, which seems to be a blending of several small groups that were affected by my buddy and his “friendly guys”. They are planning a new ceremony to commemorate the event and to honor those involved. It will be performed every year at this time. I can’t help thinking this is all coming to a close. Very mixed feeling about this.

Me, 9:30 AM: I thought there might be some activity last night, the drums were really loud. Quiet when I first came up, later, louder than I’ve heard yet. I don’t think things will stop, you are a hero to them, why would it? She will not just abandon you now like a tool to dispose of, I don’t know what indication you would have to even think that way, the way the past 3 years have been. Glad you got to see Dukey, Pink last night, how are they doing? Where is the group right now? Are they where they were when all this started? What will the ceremony be and what will it entail? I wonder if current-day Lenape still perform it?

Bob responded with this email: I don’t know that I am a “hero”. It was just part of the big picture.
I don’t know where exactly the encampment is, it is not their camp along our creek, that was completely destroyed, it will be cleansed and rebuilt in the spring. I have no idea what the ceremony will entail, but it will be an honoring ceremony and a ceremony of thanks for saving the people and culture. Dukey and Pink were wonderful. Their coats have a shine, aura like, a radiance that lights the area around them, they are just wonderful to see. Overwhelming to even write about. I so wish I could share this with you, it seems unfair.

Then the night of January 9th, when Bob got home, he told me that Niko had gone berserk in the basement and completely shredded his bed. Something seemed to have spooked him, but what? There were no changes in the house when I got home, but just a mild buzzing.

I think Nuttah wanted to do something nice for Bob after all these events and his key role in making them happen. Giving him an opportunity to visit with Dukey and Pink was the perfect thing. I’m glad he got to do that; don’t know how it happens, but I don’t question anymore anything that Nuttah can do. I don’t know what Niko shredding his bed was about, maybe there were “visitors” during the day. My overall feeling about how things will go from here, is that she will continue to have contact with us. I hope there is nothing else on the horizon for them that is so destructive. But that’s kind of stupid to say, we all know how it went in the years to come. But I disagree with Bob that it will just abruptly end, I don’t think that he was just a “tool”. But some thoughts were formulating in my head at this point that I verbalized to Bob a little later in the month, and regretted it immediately. But there is more to report before that.

Leave a Reply

