Some new changes on my desk – What do they mean?

On April 2, 2013, at 6 AM, Bob sent me this email:

I meant to mention to you that I had a somewhat odd occurrence last night. Had it not been for the recent (3 years) history it would probably have just been considered a curiosity and forgotten. Before I went up to bed, I was getting everything ready and the last thing I remember doing was putting wood on the fire and I was getting ready to take the pups out one more time. I was in the kitchen at the door putting my shoes on. The next thing I knew, I was sitting in the chair in the stove room with Niko sitting in front of me and looking directly into my eyes. Felt like I was coming out of a trance, but I suppose I could have just fallen asleep. I don’t know how I got there and I don’t remember being that tired. I also had my shoes on, and normally I would have taken them off and left them at the door. Anyway, thought I would mention it.

Also, what time did you come home or come upstairs last night? I heard Niko tapping around in the bathroom and then going down the stairs around ten, was that by himself or was he up there to accompany you?

My response to Bob, April 2, 2013 at 8:05 am: I think what you described was an “Experience” last night. The reason I think that is because Nuttah’s arrangement on my desk was new/different when I came in and I heard buzzing in the bathroom for the first time in awhile. I also had, what appeared to be my first ever destruction dream, or at least one that I remember. It was not in the way that you and the Lao woman dream them, but it was one nevertheless. My dreams come at me more interpretively, I think, in that there is a lot of symbolism I have to figure out. Anyway, this was one, but the destruction seemed to be caused by drought. Do you remember “going anywhere” when you were in the chair?

Here is a picture of the change on my desk the previous night, the night of Bob’s trance experience. Looking at this now, I realize there is something in it I never noticed before, and I don’t know where it came from, and I don’t know where it went after that: There is a blue jay feather along the back in front of my desktop speaker. It’s actually made of wood – I do own it, but I don’t know where it was before this scene, and then it disappeared afterwards, but it now seems appropriate that it was used here. However, I have difficulty interpreting this entire scene. Turtles at 3 points, hearts piled on top of each other, and Bob’s stone, with a blue-jay feather. And of course, Nuttah:

The scene on my desk the evening of April 1. That same evening, Bob had an "Experience".

The scene on my desk the evening of April 1. That same evening, Bob had an “Experience”.

I actually remembered two dreams that night. In the second one, the father from that movie “The Proposal” (Craig T. Nelson) opened a piece of our mail (addressed to Bob, I think), claiming that he “was looking for the sports page”. It was an Amazon package or something similar and contained a book about the Lenape. I was reading the captions: short paragraphs about rituals and ceremonies and the strength of the Lenape culture. Maybe this dream was meant to juxtapose the cultural differences between the dysfunction of that movie and the way it trivializes our culture vs. the strength of the Lenape rituals. Like I said, very interpretive. I’m lucky to just remember them, let alone understand my dreams.

Leave a Reply

