Our garden is getting started late

On the evening of June 17th (a Tuesday night) I wrote this to Bob:
“How long were you out watering the garden last night? Did you have any sense of anything while you did it? Cause when I came home, Nuttah had placed her character on my window ledge, looking in the direction of the garden, she has her papoose with her, and the silver heart-charm.”

Here is a photograph that I took the next morning in the daylight, of what I’d found on my window-ledge:

Nuttah, her papoose, and the silver-heart-charm are on the ledge of my office window. Nuttah looks out in the direction of the garden.

Nuttah, her papoose, and the silver-heart-charm are on the ledge of my office window. Nuttah looks out in the direction of the garden.

The next morning, when Bob got the email, he responded: 6/18, 7:22 AM:
“I was only out there about ten minutes. Didn’t notice anything. But I was/am kind of surprised we haven’t been getting any pressure to get the garden going”.

I was wondering about this too. We were very late getting the garden going this spring; we were just so busy with everything. Although it did not require anything but a major weeding, we’d been very late planting it. Finally, sometime in mid-June, we bought already-started tomato plants and plunked them in the ground.

Later same day, 6/18/13 at 10:30 AM, I wrote to Bob:
“I just took notice as I was hooking up the garden sprinkler for tonight, that the deer bone is now out there in the garden. I’ll shoot a picture before I leave, and I’ll just leave the bone there where it is, close to the tomatoes, so you’ll see it tonight (if it doesn’t get moved). I didn’t notice it missing from the office last night (where it’s been), but that doesn’t surprise me. Must have moved when she positioned herself looking out at you.

Bob wrote back to me with minutes, 10:35 AM:
“Hmmm, when I read that it suddenly became clear. That bone is a digging tool (usually modified) and a fertility symbol. So that was probably a hint to get started on garden.

Here, below, are the garden pictures referred to. I’d gone out that morning to find that deer pelvic bone that was left for us on the deck about a month earlier, now part of our garden, as Bob surmises, maybe as a tool, or a fertility symbol?

A close-up of the deer bone left in our garden

A close-up of the deer bone left in our garden, placed near a young, newly-planted tomato plant

The overall garden scene. It's mid-June, and we just got our tomatoes in. Perhaps Nuttah thinks we need help with the "fertility" bone?

The overall garden scene. It’s mid-June, and we just got our tomatoes in. Perhaps Nuttah thinks we need help with the “fertility” bone?

Leave a Reply

