Nuttah breezes through and a key has gone missing

2013-08-31-Desk-arrangement-in-officeSunday, September 1, Bob had gone up to take a shower, and when he came out he asked me, “Did you sense something while I was in the shower?”

I replied that I had not, but Bob said he felt something “breeze through” while he was up there. Later, I was in our bedroom, and I noticed Nuttah was no longer on my bedside table. Where was she?

I looked around the bedroom, she was nowhere. So the next place I usually check is the office, and there she was, on a shelf to the right of my desk with a fairly elaborate new arrangement that included wolves, dogs, both me and Bob and Bob’s stone, the bark-hut, turtles, a heart and her “papoose”. See the picture to the left. So she cruised through, and Bob sensed her, and there was a new arrangement to mark the occasion. However, what it all may mean is another story.

A sneak-peak at the downstairs, furnished room of the apartment rental.

A sneak-peak at the downstairs, furnished room of the apartment rental.

There was something else that was going on at this time too. We were soon to have a tenant moving into an apartment space we had created in a separate part of our house. This was the part where all this stuff that has been happening had started in late 2009; the bedroom that included all those episodes with Joe the Cat, and the ducks, and the furniture and all else. It had been flooded in Hurricane Irene (August 2011) and when we fixed it up, we decided we were done with the space for ourselves (I think I mentioned awhile ago how we moved our bedroom into the front part of our house, since Kate and Stewie were now off on their own). Anyway, after all this time, it was finally ready to rent, and since the summer humidity had wreaked havoc, Bob and I were cleaning up back there whenever we had time. The subject of a key to the door had come up, and Bob didn’t think we had one. I spent some time looking around, and miraculously, produced what appeared to be the ONLY key to the apartment. We put it inside a cabinet in the apartment’s kitchen, very deliberately, so that both of us knew where it was. Bob announced, “Here, in this cabinet, above the sink, is where I am putting the only key that we have.” The next time we were out there cleaning, Bob went to check on the key… and it was gone. Of course he asked me if I took it and of course I hadn’t. We looked all over the place and the key was gone. Drat, because it had been the only key, and we had not yet made any copies. We were going to have to figure that out later. We had until mid-September to produce a key, because that was when our potential tenant was supposed to move in. The weird thing was, we kind of started to interpret this as a message: Did Nuttah somehow not want our tenant? Any tenant, or just THIS tenant? The key was gone, and neither Bob nor I had anything to do with its disappearance. We somehow convinced ourselves that Nuttah didn’t want this tenant. And the other weird thing was that we hadn’t heard from said tenant since he’d agreed to take the place and move in. It had been several weeks and move-in time was upon us. So… we thought maybe Nuttah had something to do with the key disappearance, and had also somehow influenced his thoughts and he was NOT going to move in. At this point, when we thought it wasn’t happening, the key somehow miraculously reappeared. So we thought we were tenant-less, but at least we had the key. I think it was the next day, we went out and immediately had 3 copies made. Phew.

Leave a Reply

