Hums and Drums and things that go Bump in the night

In early November, I started hearing more hums, buzzes and vibrations pretty regularly. It would start with getting out of the car in the driveway when I came in at night. Then I’d hear it again in the bathroom. Recently, I heard a “Coast to Coast” show, where the guest verified that bathrooms in houses can often be a place where conductivity is enhanced. They attribute that to the running water and to hard surfaces; tile, glass, all the things that most bathrooms have.

My email to Bob, the morning of Nov. 14:  I was hearing buzzing all night. Last night lying in bed it was really strong, and it was like the old days when it seemed to be multi-tonal, and have a rhythm to it. You hear music, I hear what seems to be the “under-beat” or just the rhythm and the vibration. Maybe it’s how deaf people can ‘hear’ music.

Later that evening, I hear the sounds again. A loud buzzing/vibration in bed as I lay my head on the pillow. No dreams that I remember though. Bob emails me the following morning that he woke at 5:30 AM to music: the sounds of drums and rattles.

The exterior of the apartment rental where all this weird stuff is occurring

The exterior of the apartment rental where all this weird stuff is occurring

Then on Saturday, November 16th, we finally got a tenant for the apartment we’ve been trying to rent. Or I should say, we have a signed lease; it will be about a month before anyone is living in it. I had written about the apartment in September when we expressed concern that perhaps that potential tenant was “scared away” because of activity in the room. Bob had been picking up multiple presences on a couple of occasions while out there. We had no idea what it was that changed that person’s mind, but all his stuff disappeared one day after he’d moved quite a bit in. So now, we actually had a signed lease, and they were due to start the lease in January of 2014. We had offered a key, but he didn’t want to take it until the move-in date was official. Twice, the week after this, B0b asked me if I’d been out to the apartment and left the bathroom light on. I told him “no” each time. (I really don’t like to go out there anymore and I don’t go). Bob said he’d come home, see the light on, and would go up and turn it off.

Then the night of November 22, on the way home from work, I received this text from Bob: “Heat in apartment on full tilt. Lights on throughout. Doors locked.”

I texted back to Bob: “Wow, that’s creepy.”

Bob: “I don’t take it as creepy, hot, yes.”

Bump-in-the-NightBob went out and turned all the lights off, and turned the heat off. When I got home, I immediately looked into the lower floor of the apartment, which my car faces as I pull in. Then, as I’m going into our house, I glanced up at the upper floor window. All was dark. I reported that to Bob when I came in. Shortly, we were leaving again to go out and get a bite. I glanced up at the apartment window, and the bathroom light was now ON again! Bob had to go back in and turn it off. When we got home later, he went back there before we went to bed, and while out there, the light in the bathroom flashed on and off. Then, while standing in the downstairs room in the dark (Bob is much braver than I am), he heard 3 distinct “thumps”, as if someone was stamping hard on the floor above him. He went up to check things out (also in the dark) checking through all the closets, but he found nothing.

I am worried. This man who is to become our future tenant has only been here twice now. He only spent about 20 minutes back there with the realtor. His wife has not even seen it yet, and both will only be here part-time as they officially “live” in Florida. I asked Bob what he makes of all this, but he says he does not believe that whatever is causing what’s going on is “malevolent”. Is it Nuttah?, I wondered. Is it more like a welcoming, lights on, heat on? This only remains to be seen, and I can only hope that Bob is right. We sure don’t want any issues back there once someone is living there. But how can we just dismiss the fact that in the bedroom of what is now our rental apartment, is where it all started!

Leave a Reply

