“Beam-me-up, Scotty”!

On December 19, 2013 at 6:17 pm, I received this text from Bob. He is home and I’m at work:
“Lot of drumming and rattles. Kind of unnerving. No sense of Nuttah, just a presence of many males.”

beam-me-up-scotty2

We all know what this is. (Don’t we??)

Then immediately after, this text came through at 6:21 PM: “Holy F***, Niko and Red just ended up upstairs! Both seem kind of unnerved. Wow, that was weird.”

Me, 6:24 PM: “What do u mean, where were they? They got relocated?”

6:27 PM: “They were downstairs with me. When I came to, they were locked upstairs.”

Me, 6:54 PM: “Where is everybody now? Things calmed down?”

I didn’t pursue it by text any further, because usually Bob calls me shortly after 7 pm, so I would just wait for his phone call to get further details. What I wanted to inquire about was the “came to” part of his text; did that mean that Bob traveled too, or was he “out” for awhile?

He did call me shortly after that and elaborated somewhat on what happened, which must have occurred between the first 2 texts, between 6:17 and 6:21 PM. Bob said he “came to” sitting in the stove-room chair; the room was warm from the fire, but he was freezing. (very unusual for Bob to even use the word “freezing”; he never gets cold, and even wears shirt-sleeves out in weather in the teens) He told me later on the phone, he was “still trying to warm up”. His body was in deep chill from whatever happened when the pups ended up upstairs. They had been down in the stove-room with Bob and the two other pups, and when Bob “woke up”, they were gone. He got up and went looking for them in other parts of the house, even the basement and outside. Then he heard some noises upstairs and went up to find them locked in the spare bedroom. I do have a theory that perhaps they were (again) needed for some kind of help in “their” world, hence the presence of all the Lenape males right before it happened. I think Bob is not able to ‘go’ anymore unless it proves really urgent. Or maybe Bob did go, but his memory was wiped out about it. Or maybe he was put into a kind of trance while they “borrowed” the pups. And what were they involved in and what did they do? On the phone, Bob described the drumming this time as somewhat “different”. “Ominous” was the word he used. I fully expected to come home again to some kind of change, but there was nothing at all new or rearranged, at least that I noticed.  I did hear a bit of a “hum” when I got out of the car in the driveway, but that was all.

Niko laying down. Once down, he doesn't really want to get up.

Niko laying down. Once down, he doesn’t really want to get up.

Clearly, Niko was perturbed by it into the night. Later, when I was typing here at my computer, he joined me from where he’d been sleeping on the bed upstairs with Bob. He never does that, he’s so comfortable on the bed, that even when I come in, go upstairs, change, and take Red out, Niko never even gets up. Just lifts his head from laying there next to Bob, gives me a little tail wag, and lays back down. He is not interested in getting off the bed. So to have him jump up, and come down, and then keep nudging at me like he was is highly unusual. I finally tried letting him out, but that didn’t seem to be what it was about either. He was just really wound up.

Email this morning from Bob: No continuation from the beginning of the night with the pups; don’t know what that was about, but I am glad that nothing more happened. Niko did go after something across the creek this morning, was barking and jumping on the wall, I assume it was deer.

Red. Such a pretty girl. But she is not answering any questions.

Red. Such a pretty girl. But she is not answering any questions.

My reply to Bob: “Niko seems really unsettled since whatever happened last night. He actually came down in the evening to nudge me, wouldn’t leave me alone, I had him out but that didn’t seem to be what it was about. He never went back up til I went to bed. Then I heard the barking at 3 AM, he was really going nuts over something, guess it was a deer. Gotta love the noise at that hour. Just now, he got me up at 7, had to go out, that’s unusual too. Seems really on edge about something, wonder what’s going on? And of course wonder what happened last night?? I found no changes when I got home, guess that makes sense since it was not Nuttah, as you said, but a roomful of men.”

It’s now a couple of days later. Something clearly happened to Niko that night, both of them really; they are ‘different’ since they ‘returned’, but it’s hard to pin down how. Needier maybe, more affectionate, a little unnerved-seeming, cautious. Like I said, hard to describe. Probably a lot less impact than if it had been a person involved. I asked both of them to ‘tell’ me what happened, even if it was only in pictures, but I’ve yet to get any response, just more or less blank stares. Pups on an adventure.

Leave a Reply

