A Weekend of Events

Tonight it is Wednesday, January 8, 2014 and I came home to loud buzzing in the driveway. It followed me to the mailbox, and it followed me into the house and upstairs, and now I hear it dimly in the office as I sit here typing. I’ve already checked for changes upstairs, and things are still the way they were placed this weekend. Bob had reported Niko being distracted and unsettled earlier, last night it was that way too. But I get ahead of myself… going back to the weekend:

The bark hut was left by itself where it was propped in front of the TV

The bark hut was left by itself where it was propped in front of the TV

It was the first weekend of January, 2014. First, Bob went out to the apartment on Friday night, Jan. 3rd and heard lots of drumming and rattles. Then, we went out the night of Saturday, January 4th, and when we came home, there was a change in the display of objects upstairs in the bedroom. All but the bark-hut had been moved to be repositioned on my bedside table. I will add a picture of that change. And then Sunday the 5th, again in the apartment, Bob had to turn off lights that we did not leave on. It occurred to me as we were talking about these latest,  but relatively minor events, that maybe the drums and rattles that Bob heard over there Friday night were part of a ceremony. Because it was exactly one year ago Friday that I posted this one:

Jan. 3, 2013 – The Day it Happened

It might be hard to see but a ruler registered 7.5" of snow Friday, Jan. 3

It might be hard to see but a ruler registered 7.5″ of snow Friday, Jan. 3

And remember, the “Day it Happened” was the day Bob’s “buddy” was finally annihilated. Knowing that the Lenape are very much conscious of the ceremonial aspects of life in the form of “events”, I was pretty sure that there was something going on Friday to commemorate it. Why wasn’t Bob part of it? Were the pups? Niko? We had been home all day: it snowed heavily Friday. Bob had a rare planned day off, I ended up calling out because of the weather. Yeah, pretty lame, but I also knew it was going to be a really slow day. I don’t do that often, but with Bob being home, it made sense. This would have been the day that something would happen regarding a “ceremony”. And maybe it did, and maybe it just didn’t work out that Bob or Niko could be involved. Remember, we have been made aware that Bob can only “go” a limited number of times.

I still have not made my new characters. I had lots of time off, but I also had lots of things to do. Maybe this weekend. Here is the picture I promised of the way things had changed on my bedside table:
2014-01-04-Nuttah-and-wolves

Leave a Reply

