Flowers Again in November

I’m always so excited to get flowers from Nuttah. I am never sure if they are coming from ‘her’ world, or if she picks them somewhere around here (our world). I still think of these realms that way; ‘her’ vs ‘our’ world, but maybe they are not so specific, just all ‘one’ world. Someday I hope to understand this, but I am not there yet.

So the night of November 16th, when I came home from work, I went up to the bedroom when the dogs heard me. At that point, which is usually around 10, Bob is upstairs sleeping with 3 of the dogs. When I first get home, I tiptoe around quietly downstairs, so as not to alert them. I try to get in some time to relax until I am ‘on duty’ again with them; they always have to be taken out when they hear me. Also, they cause a racket and wake up Bob. The newest one, “Little Lu”, who I have not introduced in here yet, starts her shrill, small-dog barking as soon as she hears me downstairs, and I drop everything and run up as fast as I can to get them all out, so Bob can go back to sleep. Anyway, this time when that inevitably happened, while up there I turned on the air conditioner fan to its loudest setting to drown out our noise. We use the AC all year to cause a ‘whitewash’ of sound so we can all sleep better, including the dogs. As I went over to where it is to turn it on, I noticed something on my radio. I have included a picture below.

This is a large branch of late fall Asters. There are some protected areas, such as below our wall where they survived our first frost, which was much earlier in November.

This is a large branch of late fall Asters. There are some protected areas, such as below our wall where they survived our first frost, which was much earlier in November.

At the bottom of the picture you can just make out the top of Nuttah’s character’s head. This is on my clock radio, right on my bedside table. And also below here, I have included a more inclusive version of the same scene; you can see in this one not only the flowers, but Nuttah, Bob’s stone, some leaves with a chestnut, and a heart that was in my jewelry closet. (I had brought the leaves and chestnuts as sort of an ‘offering’ to Nuttah).

A more inclusive scene, showing Nuttah below with numerous objects.

A more inclusive scene, showing Nuttah with numerous objects.

I had taken the flowers in the bathroom the next morning and placed them in water because they were starting to wilt. They sprung right back to life, and I’ve added another photo to get a better feel for the actual size of this ‘branch’:

The whole branch. The green vessel is roughly the size of a shot-glass

The whole branch. The green vessel is roughly the size of a shot-glass

 

Leave a Reply

