How to ‘spark’ activity

So I had a little time off between Christmas and New Year’s this year. It ends tomorrow (1/4/16) but I had a nice 11-day stretch of vacation time, which I spent at home. It’s always nice to just sort of hang out at home and not have to work; I could get used to this in no time. I did do a lot of chores and cleaning/organizing, a fair amount of visiting, and things that I normally can’t do because about 12 hours of my work days are occupied with either getting ready for work, driving to or from work, or actually being at work. So that leaves little else. One of the little ‘projects’ that I’ve put off for a long time and have thought about doing, I actually did. I made paper cut-outs of the newer dogs in our house. It has been that long; all the dogs we have now were not ours when all this started. I know that probably sounds like a small thing, but when everything else is so pressing, doing this was no small feat. And with this, I’d also like to introduce a new face in our dog-household, and that is little “Lu”. “Lu” is Lucy, the Yorkie. A Yorkie! you might think, amongst our German Shepherd and wolf-hybrid. Yes, it’s Lucy; Yorkie rescue, and she holds her own with Niko and Red, and another dog we adopted last February that we call “Fred”, short for Winifred.

3 of the dogs. Red on the left, Niko on the right, and (not to scale), Lucy the Yorkie in the middle

3 of the dogs: Red on the left, Niko on the right, and (not to scale), Lucy the Yorkie in the middle

I made cutouts of Niko, Red and Lucy. All 3 have at one time or other been part of “events”. Fred has not, so I didn’t make a cutout for Fred. The 3 of them are pictured here to the left, and the caption tells who they are. This was on the 29th and I set them up that same day on the bureau in our bedroom with Nuttah.

 

Pictures of the dog/wolf arrangement

And here is how I placed them on the bureau. I added the original cutouts I still had of the wolves, and then there is also Duke in this picture, just to the left of Nuttah. And a blue Oaxacan (Mexican) rabbit, but that object ‘lives’ on the bureau – it’s always there

We were out for a bit on Thursday, 12/31, which is New Year’s Eve, but it was early, we didn’t want to be out late. We were having an early dinner at a local pub, because we wanted to get home and in before any New Year’s Eve madness started. Bob at one point during dinner said to me, “Nuttah is visiting right now.”

“What?, How do you know?”, I asked.

“I just see her by the creek with her boy”, Bob replied.

“What is she doing?”, I asked.

“Nothing really, I just had a very clear image of her there, and she somehow communicated that to me.”

So you can imagine that when we got home, I made a beeline to the bedroom to check the bureau to see if any changes. And voila! Yes, there was, see picture below. So what has changed, is that all the dogs were pulled in tighter to Nuttah. She is down now at their level, and she piled a heart on top of Bob’s stone. But the most interesting thing, that Bob had to point out to me, because I didn’t see it right away, was that the paper character of Duke (the shepherd we had prior to Niko that passed away) was SHARING Niko’s support stand. Duke had been inserted into the stand as if he and Niko shared the same – well, body, I guess. That is what Bob has been saying all along, that Duke lives still inside of Niko, as well as the Teme wolf that lives in Nuttah’s world. The 3 are all part of one. I don’t know how this works, but this is what Nuttah is illustrating by combining the 2 shepherds. In the picture below, you can kind of see Duke’s ears behind Niko’s head.

Changes on the Bureau

The changes to the arrangement. Disregard the owl to the right of the arrangement, I had placed that there too, but it really doesn’t figure into anything, except for the fact that Nuttah didn’t disturb it.

And then in this picture below, I came in closer to try to better illustrate the little scene. What both of us missed, because the cutout is smaller than the other two, is that BEHIND Niko and Duke, one of the wolf cutouts was also sharing the stand. So she HAD combined the 3 all in one. Bob seems to know, when he is visiting ‘there’, that the wolf/dog he interacts with is Niko/Duke/Teme – the 3 of them all inhabiting the one. And now Nuttah has substantiated this with the cutouts. I still plan to work with more cutouts/diorama objects, because it seems like the best way for her to communicate ideas and relationships. And I do like to ‘spark’ some activity.

The changes on the dresser

A closer up version of the combined Niko/Duke

 

 

Leave a Reply

