The “dups” are rearranged with their wolf alter-egos

Remember, in our household, “Dups” = Dogs

Bob and I exchanged these emails on the morning of January 21, referring to the night before:
Bob: “Did wake to a visit, well the dups woke me with severe whining, all three whining in unison. Seemed very brief, but Nuttah was there with Teme. Don’t know what it was about, seemed brief, actually, I don’t know that, it was brief while I was awake. Lu has the silliest of whines, she needs to work on that. Niko and Red have proper whines.”

I wrote Bob back, same morning:
“Yes I knew there was a visit, there is a new arrangement on the TV dresser. What time did that happen? It seems to be all the dups and wolves piled up; she used the bark hut behind it all and she’s in the front with a heart on top of your stone facing the bed. What does it all mean? How is Teme doing, does he have hip issues still? Or you don’t know.”

I am really not sure what the nature of this visit was. Only the dogs (dups) know and they’re not talking. I asked Lucy later, she just looked at me and cocked her head funny. She seems to understand when I talk to her, understand  a lot more than we probably give her credit for. Here are pictures of what was on the bureau (and still is as I write this on 1/23:

A new arrangement with all the Niko, Red and Lucy characters that I provided.

A new arrangement with all the Niko, Red and Lucy characters that I provided.

Then I noticed that little Lu was pared with a wolf-pup! So is she just like Niko/Duke/Teme, and has an alter-ego that is a wolf?

Then I noticed that little Lu was pared with a wolf-pup! So is she just like Niko/Duke/Teme, and has an alter-ego that is a wolf?

If you click on the picture on the right, the one I have the pink circle around, you can see that Lucy has behind her (combined with her) one of the wolf-pups. Is this her wolf alter-ego? According to Bob, Niko now contains the essence of Duke and also the Teme (wolf) from their time. In fact, if something were to happen to Niko, it would also happen to the wolf (and vice versa) That much we do know. Both Niko and Teme had hip problems that started at the same time. With Teme, he got hurled against something by a bear, Bob thinks, and Niko started having serious problems with his hips/back legs then. We started taking him to a vet and having laser-treatments and acupuncture to bring him around. It really seemed to work too, at least for a year. This all started in late fall of 2014, and he did okay until recently. Now he is suffering again, and I’m afraid we may have to revisit getting some kind of ‘cart’ for Niko. He needs something like this:

If Niko had one of these, we could walk him and he could move around better. This even looks like him.

If Niko had one of these, we could walk him and he could move around better. This even looks like him. If Niko would tolerate being hooked into this thing, I think he’d really benefit from the action.

There was one other ‘event’ in January that bears writing about, and it took place on January 9th. Our kids were taking Bob out for his 60th birthday celebration. We were to meet them out at a venue in NJ, and then Stewie was going to spend the night here with us, although Bob didn’t know this until the day of the celebration. We had a great time out and then, as planned, Stewie came to spend the night. In the morning, after having more or less forgotten about his usual, timely ‘character’ arrival, I checked in the places it would normally show up and there was no sign of Stew. I chalked this up to Nuttah not picking up from Bob that Stewie was coming to spend the night, since the whole thing had developed as a surprise.

However, I mentioned this to Bob, and I guess he went and had a look around, and brought me out to the foyer to show me this:

There he was, his character showing up as he always does when Stew visits in person. We then went out to say goodbye when Stew was leaving, and by the time we came in the character was already gone.

There he was, his character showing up as he always does when Stew visits in person. We then went out to say goodbye when Stew was leaving, and by the time we came in, his character was already gone.

Leave a Reply

