Why was my hanging laundry laid on the bed?

My laundry on the bed.

My laundry on the bed. Sometimes I wish I had a video-cam rolling full time in our house.

I came home to this on Friday, January 6, 2017. It was on the bed in our bedroom. All this stuff had been hanging to dry on my closet rod, which is also in the bedroom. It was dry for awhile, but I hadn’t yet put the stuff away. It was mostly what I call my “white-wash”; all the light and white things that can go in the wash together. And when we got home Friday night, after having met after work for a bite out, I go to the bedroom and see it all laid out on the bed. I didn’t immediately recognize the “pattern”. I went down to Bob, who hadn’t come upstairs yet, and asked him if he put my hanging laundry on the bed. Now I knew what the answer was before I asked him. There is no reason Bob would ever do this. He’d never done anything like it, and I knew he hadn’t this time either. Why would he move it? And especially onto the bed from my closet? He just looked at me funny, “Did I do what?”

“Did you lay my laundry with the hangars out on the bed?”, I asked, still feeling like I had to absolutely confirm that he hadn’t, before I jumped to the only other conclusion.

Again, a funny look. I knew the answer without asking: he didn’t do it.

“Have you been in the bedroom yet tonight?” Bob gets home before me, and then we meet out later. I meet him right from work because I finish later. Bob always comes home first to let out the dogs, get the fire going, stuff like that, and then we agree on a meeting-out place. He couldn’t remember, but thinking about it, said “No, I probably did not go into the bedroom”. There really wouldn’t have been a reason for him to, his closet is in the guest bedroom, and it’s where he always dresses or changes clothes. “So you didn’t see what’s on the bed?” I asked.

“No, I guess not. Why, what’s on it?”

I showed him a picture I’d taken on my phone. Bob went up to see it, and it was then he noticed the pattern, that the clothing had been arranged around a ‘center-point’ and 4 items or piles were in the intermediate ‘cardinal’ locations. It roughly looked like the Native American “Medicine Wheel”. Below are some examples of medicine wheels I pulled from the internet for illustration. I also did some ‘photoshopping’ of the clothing on the bed, to make it look more flat, and to bring out the pattern it resembles, because I was unable to get high enough over it, holding the camera over the bed. Am I totally off base here, in terms of the similarity? And if it was Nuttah, what is she trying to say? The meaning is open to interpretation. I mean, there must be SOME reason it was done, and some reason it was arranged in this particular fashion. And why did she choose only white shirts? If she’d wanted to illustrate something with color, because the medicine wheel colors are red, black, yellow and white, I certainly have clothes of those colors IN the closet… so what is the message here?

The rotated and manipulated (more or less flattened) picture of the laundry arranged on the bed

The rotated and manipulated picture of the laundry arranged on the bed. 

ANd a child's drawing of a "Medicine Wheel"

And a child’s drawing of a “Medicine Wheel”. Similar?

A "Mohican Nation" sample of a Medicine Wheel

A “Mohican Nation” sample of a Medicine Wheel

medicine-wheel

And another interpretation

Leave a Reply

