Archive for August 21st, 2011

August 21, 2011

Event #242a: Sunday, August 21, 2011


The next morning, Bob got up before me and went off fishing at a nearby lake. When he returned, Bob asked me a short time later if he had mentioned anything specific about the wedding ceremony. “What do you mean?”, I asked.
“Well, did I tell you about the music, and the dancing?”
“No, I don’t remember anything about music and dancing”. I answered.
“How about the other couples, the Turtle and Wolf clan members that were being married, the others besides Nuttah?” Bob asked.
“No, none of that.” I said.
“Are you sure?” Bob wondered.
“Yeah, I would remember that, besides, it’s all in the emails you sent me about her marriage, all you said was that you saw the young men, you saw her groom, and she was wearing these flowers in her hair. That was it, I wrote that up in a post, and that’s all there was.” I answered.
“Well, then I don’t know when I had this ‘vision’.” Bob said. “Or if I went there — but I saw a ceremony, a dancing ceremony, and it was clear that it was related to the marriages.” Bob continued.
“What do you mean, ‘marriages’?” I wondered. “I thought only Nuttah got married.”
“No, there were several couples. They came from the Turtle and the Wolf clans. About five couples got married. I saw that, and then last night, I saw the end-ceremony; the other clans were going home and they were having a big ceremony to celebrate the marriages.” Bob said.
“So this was last night?” I wondered.
“I guess so… ” Bob responded. “I mean, I know something happened last night, and I know I have a clear memory of this dancing ceremony, and the music, and the people… but I’m not clear on when I saw it. But if you’re sure that I didn’t mention it when I first told you that I knew she got married, then it had to have been last night.” Bob said.
“So is that where you went when it seemed pretty clear you were ‘gone’ last night?” I wondered.
“It must have been. I know something happened… I know I felt I ‘left’. I mean, the more I think about it, the more I remember. As I talk about it, I remember more… like I went right down a chute, right through the chair I was sitting on, on the porch, like I went ‘down the rabbit hole’.” Bob continued. “I just left the program.”
“Well, how come last night, when I asked you that, you didn’t remember it then, how come you said ‘I went somewhere’, but it’s not where you think?” I asked.
“I don’t know… I didn’t remember it last night. It’s coming back to me today. I clearly remember now seeing a ceremony, dancing, music; I can hear the instruments. It was drums, rattles, and maybe some kind of flute in the background, but it was weird, the sound was different, in that the flute didn’t really jive with the other sounds that were going on, like they were independent of each other. There were a lot of people, and there was a fire, and they were dancing around it.” Bob said.
“How many people?” I wondered.
“I don’t know, lots, maybe 100 or more.” was Bob’s answer.
“100 or more??” I asked incredulously.
“Yeah, there were a lot. More than I’ve ever seen there before.” Bob answered.

Then, Bob supplied a drawing of the scene. This was actually later that same day during dinner and the drawing is below. The writing is mine. The way Bob explained this, is that the central part of that circle is a fire. Around the fire, about 100 or so people are dancing. Towards the center, the younger people are dancing, the children. One half of the circle are the members of the Wolf clan, I’ve written there on the left upper side: “WOLF”. The other half were the members of the Turtle clan, and I wrote there: “TURTLE”. Nuttah and her new husband are indicated to the left; the newly married couples danced in the middle, between the two Lenape clans. I’ve labeled the 2 Longhouses at the top, and Bob described on the outer edges these individual huts, which are represented with those circles, to the right and left of the inner-dancing circle. So this is what Bob must have been witnessing when he appeared to ‘leave the program’, spilled his coffee, eyes moving as if watching something, hand pointing as if seeing something… curious that he did not immediately remember, but that’s just part of the whole mystery of this entire thing.

Bob draws up the "Closing Ceremony"